How can you delete the Mac time machine older backup?

Mac Time Machine is the ideal way to generate a full backup of all the data on your Mac on time. The Time Machine backups folder on Mac is often used to store an up-to-date copy of your data on your device. In the event of a hard drive malfunction or data loss, full backups are extremely beneficial.

Maintaining the Mac is not only good for it but it may also be required. Older Macs, as well as Macs with limited memory or storage, benefit by having fewer files and folders in their storage. Whatever is on your Mac, it comes in a variety of shapes and sizes. The basic types are applications, documents, and folders. However, you should be aware that whatever you keep on the Mac takes up enough space on the device. Even if you save files in iCloud, the Mac will have to set aside some space to access them.

What is a Mac time machine?

Apple’s mechanism for maintaining backups on the Mac is called Time Machine. Time Machine is pre-installed on every Mac. Time Machine is a straightforward and efficient solution for all Mac users to generate and maintain backups. Mac Time Machine works in the background to produce a “snapshot” of your Mac’s whole system at different timespans.

The functionality of it is basic as frequent backups reduce the chances of losing important data and files. Consider Time Machine to be digital life insurance.

When you are operating on a critical file, a Mac Time Machine backup will save the information you’ve done up to the moment the backup is generated. You could check the file you want by looking through an old backup, and you can begin again just where you left off. This is also useful if you mistakenly removed a file that you later require or removed a program that is no longer available in the Mac App Store.

Determining how to remove Time Machine backups is a big concern with the application. Since Time Machine wants to handle your backups for you, finding out how to remove old backups from Time Machine is not something many people can do on themselves. You may store files to an external drive to free up space on the Mac, but managing the external drive is also required.

Methods to use to delete Mac time machine older backup

Once you begin, please note that if your hard disk is close to run out of space, Apple will erase the older backups. To put it another way, you don’t have to manually delete it. You always have the option of removing backups on the Mac without the use of third-party applications; here are the methods to use to delete Mac time machine older backup.

Time Machine Application

Time Machine is a built-in feature on Mac that allows you to back up your critical data. Nevertheless, the software may also be used to immediately delete previous backed-up data, which is a unique feature. To remove the Mac Time Machine backup, follow the instructions outlined below.

  1. Locate the system’s backup drive.
  2. Select ‘Time Machine’ in the Menu Bar.
  3. If the icon is not visible, go to ‘System Preferences’ > ‘Time Machine,’ and select the ‘Show Time Machine in Menu Bar’ box.
  4. Select the old backup files you wish to get rid of.
  5. You can now click on a ‘Gear’ symbol by moving the mouse pointer over it.
  6. Select ‘Delete Backup’ from the menu.
  7. A verification message will appear on the screen, which you must accept.
  8. Next, enter your credentials (username and password).
Also read about: How to restore Apple watch backup?

Terminal Command

The tmutil command and the Terminal command are used in this approach. You can attempt it if you are acquainted with the command line. To remove an older backup, follow the procedures listed below.

  1. To access utilities, go to ‘Applications’ and then ‘Utilities.’ It will aid with the introduction of Terminal.
  2. To locate backups saved on your Mac, use the command tmutil listbackup.
  3. The display will show you a list of backups organised by date.
  4. Locate the backups that need to be removed. Then type ‘sudo tmutil delete’ into the command line.
  5. You may delete several backups at once while using wildcards in the Terminal.

Finder

  1. On the Mac, launch ‘Finder.’
  2. Link your Mac to an external hard disc.
  3. Go over to the drive’s ‘Backups.backupdb’ folder. Ensure you are in the subdirectory named after the Mac.
  4. To remove the file linked with the Time Machine backups you wish to get rid of, right-click it and choose ‘Move to Trash.’
  5. Right-click the trash icon and select ‘Empty Trash,’ to clean the trash.

Sudeepta is a Professional Content developer, Editor, Proofreader, Social Media Marketer, Creative and Technical Content Writer. She is a Blogger, Nature lover, and budding Photographer from Assam who is passionate about words, food, and travel.

Leave a Comment

Disclaimer: All iPhoneissues.com are independently owned and operated. All product and company names are trademarks of their respective holders. iPhone, iPad, iPod, iPod touch, Mac and iMac are registered trademarks and property of Apple, Inc. iPhoneissues.com is a third-party company and is not affiliated with Apple.